Planning to plan

“Life is what happens while you are busy making other plans” — John Lennon

There is unrest in my soul tonight.

So many people spend their whole lives planning their lives. I used to be one of those people; the one with the 5 year plan, the 10 year plan and the 20 year plan…with plans for achieving my plans, I even planned to plan! 

People spend their lives running from one opportunity to the next, expending energy, time and money…they even forgo time with their loved ones in exchange for pursuing the ever out of reach “plan”.

The truth of the matter is I can’t plan anymore. Well, I can but if I’m being honest with myself it’s a waste.

Don’t get me wrong, I have plans and I want so badly for them to come to life…but I can never ever lose respect for the fact that in a minute it could all be gone. All my plans could go up in smoke.

Tomorrow we could not wake up; we could wake up and not be able to walk; we could wake up and not be able to speak or see or hear. Tomorrow we could get hit by a bus, murdered or kidnapped and sold into sex slavery. Ok, I’m being a little dramatic…but it’s true.

Tomorrow you could get bit by a tick and your whole world could change…mine did.

The fact is that none of us can plan, if we’re being honest with ourselves. We can plan, but we damn well better never lose a healthy respect for the fact that it could all be gone in an instant…because that’s when the universe likes to throw us a little reminder. Trust me…

Plans are just that, plans…they’re ideas, possibilities, desires. They are not promises and they are most definitely not guarantees. So make your plans, set your goals, and work hard for them but remember this…tomorrow it could all be gone.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Planning to plan

  1. I didn’t plan to comment AM. Honest ! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. pelicangallery

    Good writing. Live in the moment. Hugs.

    Like

Leave a comment